Friday, March 02, 2007

The Thief

Turner, Megan Whalen. 1996. The Thief.

The Thief is the first book in this trilogy by Megan Whalen Turner consisting of The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, and The King of Attolia. Our hero, Gen, our Eugenides is a young thief who spends most of his time in and out of various prisons as he crosses borders and makes friends and enemies of various people while on his thieving missions. Claiming that he can steal anything is a proud boast--but one that he is willing to prove more than once. As he’s hired to steal precious items from enemy countries, his adventures begin to take on a life of their own. Full of secrets and surprises, the series is too good to miss. (A word on book covers, the first cover--the original--was truly awful in my opinion. It happened to be the one my library had. This cover for the newest reprint, on the otherhand, is very nice.)

Turner, Megan Whalen. 2000. The Queen of Attolia.

How does a reviewer review the second book in a series without spoiling the plot of the first book? Can you say anything without giving away the ending??? Well, I’ll try. Let’s just say that our thief is back in prison--a different prison, a different country, a different monarch--and this time a Queen. Surrounded by enemies, Gen’s fallen into a trap and must pay the ultimate price for his thievery: the loss of his hand. Can life go on for a one-handed thief? Can he still outwit his enemies and get his way in the end? The Queen of Attolia is an exciting sequel to The Thief...but leaves one wanting to read the conclusion. Unfortunately for me, The King of Attolia is not at my local least not yet. It’s on order.

No comments: